November 23, 2013

Music Saturday - Moderat

Every week again... we're presenting another album of bands or singers we currently love. This week: Moderat - Moderat II

© Moderat II - Moderat

Moderatis an electronic music project that originated in Berlin, Germany. It started as a collaboration between two music groups, Apparat, by Sascha Ring, and Moderat, featuring Gernot Bronsert and Sebastian Szary.

In 2002, Sascha, Gernot and Sebastian met for the first time. At that point in time, Apparat and Modeselektor were well established in the Berlin music scene. Sascha had already released his debut album and Gernot and Sebastian, a series of 12"s. Their shared studio time led to the first EP "Auf Kosten der Gesundheit", released in 2002.

© Auf Kosten der Gesundheit - Moderat

Fans had to wait seven years for the first album, due to some creative disagreements and different opinions on how they should work. Their eponymous debut album was released on April 20, 2009. Busdriver, the Californian rapper, the German reggae heroes Seeed and the dup poet Paul St. Hilaire joined them on several songs.

Now, twelve years after their first meeting, Modeselektor and Apparat have come together once again: more mature, but not worldly-wise, wiser but not unquestioning, more experienced but without experienced but without having sacrificed any of their pioneer spirit. Their second album, Moderat II, was released in August this year.

© Moderat II Deluxe Edition - Moderat

Track List:
1. The Mark (Interlude)
2. Bad Kingdom
3. Versions
4. Let in the Light
5. Milk
6. Therapy
7. Gita
8. Clouded (Interlude)
9. Iliona
10. Damage Done
11. This Time

The first video from Moderat II "Bad Kingdom" is an illustrated piece directed and produced by Pradfinderei. This video shows the story of a young British man traversing the greedy underworld in London in 1966.

Thanks for reading!
Love, Louise

No comments:

Post a Comment